Search Website
13th COGNO Annual Scientific Meeting (Virtual)
Brain Cancer 2021: Concepts to Cure

Sunday 24th October - Tuesday 26th October 2021

Co-Convenors' Welcome
Dear Colleagues

On behalf of the Organising Committee, it gives us great pleasure to invite you to attend the COGNO Annual Scientific Meeting for 2021, to be held 24-26 October 2021. The theme for this year’s meeting is “Brain Cancer 2021: Concepts to Cure”.

As the title suggests, a major focus for this year’s meeting, whilst covering the spectrum of brain cancer care, is a strong basic science and translational science program including translational imaging in neuro-oncology. We are delighted to welcome a strong local contingent in this part of the program. 

The meeting will commence with updates from our international virtual guests, Prof David N. Louis (Pathologist-in-Chief, Massachusetts General Hospital) on the 2021 CNS WHO classification update along with scanning the horizon for new treatments for glioblastoma by Prof Nino Chiocca (Chairman, Neurosurgery, Brigham and Women's Hospital). The dedicated meningioma session will be presented by Prof Gelareh Zadeh (Head of Neurosurgery, Toronto Western Hospital) and Prof Michael Jenkinson (Sir John Fisher / RCSEng Chair of Surgical Trials, Liverpool) as well as many more.

The Organising Committee looks forward to seeing you virtually in October, for what is sure to be a fantastic meeting.
A/Prof Rosemary Harrup 
Dr Sanjeev Gill
2021 ASM Organising Committee
  • A/Prof Rosemary Harrup, Co-Convenor (Medical Oncologist, Royal Hobart Hospital)
  • Dr Sanjeev Gill, Co-Convenor (Medical Oncologist, Alfred Health & Cabrini Hospital)
  • Prof Kate Drummond (Neurosurgeon, The Royal Melbourne Hospital)
  • Ms Marcia Fleet (Cancer Care Coordinator, Neuro-oncology unit, The Royal Melbourne Hospital)
  • Prof Terry Johns (Professor of Paediatric Cancer Research and Program Head of the Telethon Kids Cancer Centre)
  • A/Prof Jeremy Ruben (Radiation Oncologist, The Alfred)
  • Ms Jenny Chow (Executive Officer, COGNO)
  • Ms Danielle Massey (Project Officer, COGNO)
  • A/Prof Ben Chua (Radiation Oncologist, GenesisCare Rockhampton and Brisbane), 2022 ASM Co-Convenor
  • Dr Hamish Alexander (Neurosurgeon, Briz Brain & Spine), 2022 ASM Co-Convenor